ACR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted earlier in General Firearms about CCW and it got me thinking about home defense.

Do you use your ACR as your home defense gun? If not, what is by your bedside?

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I still haven't figured out a way to keep my ACR by my bed. I have two small children and I can't exactly have loaded firearms laying around.

I have a Smith & Wesson M&P 9mm fullsize with Arredondo extended base pads and a Surefire X300 in a quick Gunvault Safe.

·
Registered
350 Posts
I have a Beretta 92FS for home defense, took it to Pocono Pistol Club in PA yesterday to spend some quality time with it and even though I am a novice I was on target (7" groups) at 50' with it.

That being said, if it became "Night Of The Living Dead" time, I would have my ACR out in the blink of an eye.

·
Registered
2,790 Posts
I dont use an ACR for home defense. Remington 870 and Glock 37 are my choices right now. Both very effective at the usual home defense ranges.

·
Premium Member
4,707 Posts
i use the acr or usp for home defense, whichever i grab first... the acr has an attached light, which means i dont fumble around for the surefire light with the usp-with my luck the light would roll off of the nightstand

·
Registered
17 Posts
I have a Colt Double Eagle .45 and a S&W .500 revolver for home defense. My ACR is kept in the case, and use for competitive shooting.

·
Registered
279 Posts
I have various handgun around to get to my benelli M2 semi auto, if you can't handle the situation with a shotgun you got a massive home invasion happening. The long answer to the question is NO...ACR...AR15 not my first choice for home defense.

·
Registered
279 Posts
I have a Beretta 92FS for home defense, took it to Pocono Pistol Club in PA yesterday to spend some quality time with it and even though I am a novice I was on target (7" groups) at 50' with it.