ACR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to discuss the differences between the two. I own a Robinson M96 and really love it, though it is dated. I've been eying up the XCR for a few years, but wanted to wait for the ACR to hit the market and teethe a bit / hopefully have the price level out before I picked one over the other. I also feel abandoned by Robinson, since they no longer make any of the accessories for the M96.
Yesterday I walked into a local dealer and got a hold of an ACR. I picked it up and it felt just right, more so than anything else I have. Seems very worth the buzz.
So other than weight and maybe to some extent looks, what are the advantages / disadvantages of both. Does the ACR shoot as smoothly as and not climb like the M96, compared to an AR-15 carbine?
There are a lot of opinions out there like Ford vs. Chevy, but I want to know who out there has actually shot both. Hopefully then, this won't end up in the whining folder. Thanks.

Kirk

·
Premium Member
325 Posts
Okay - Here is a chart that can help you see the differences. However, keep in mind that the chart was created before the ACR actually hit the street. So there are a few differences between the chart and the actual ACR, XCR, etc.

So let me state them first.

ACR -

Barrel: 1/9 twist
Avg Price: $2500
Button rifling
No AK magazine compatibility
Weight is actually closer to 8.2 pounds

XCR -

Ambi mag release comes standard on all new rifles and older ones can be upgraded.

·
Registered
2,787 Posts
Nice comparison chart!!!

If your thinking about a XCR take a peek at the XCRFORUM. It appears that the have had some quality control issues. But then anytime sales out weight capacity that happens.

I think the XCR is a great concept, but the ACR has the potential for more options.